Wheels, Tires and other Exterior Talk about your rims, body kits, and other exterior mods here.

Winter driving and sand spreader damage

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 08:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winter driving and sand spreader damage

Hi All: I'm new to the Volvo forums, although I have been driving them since 1959. My current ride is a S60RAWD 6-speed.
I live in Sacramento, CA and have a client in Reno, NV. I have to make the trip "over the hill" at least once a week for the next year. The trip involves from 40- 60 mi. of snow travel. Yesterday, I was blasted by the CalTrans sanding trucks that spread "sand" (more like 1/2 - 1" rocks interspersed with some sand) over the frozen sections of the road. I cleaned my car this morning and about got sick from the damage. The glass face over the lights are chipped, and the front end is in really bad shape.

So my question...Do any of you know of a manufacturer that makes a bra for my car? Colgan does, but it is for the front with the spoiler, so it won't fit mine. I have been unsuccessful in finding any manufacturer in ANY country. I just found a company in Florida that makes a plastic covering for my car. It is a 3m product. 8mm over the paint and 28mm over the glass. Has anybody used this product? Does anybody know of anyone either makes a bra or will make a custom bra? I'm thinking that I will probably have to get an entire new front end after the spring. There won't be any paint left.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Clay

Old 01-12-2008, 08:23 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: Winter driving and sand spreader damage

If you were to go with a Bra it would look as bad or worse than it does now.

When you have the bra on dirt gets between the bra and paint. Then when you drive it grinds it into the paint. (Been there tried that)

I would look into the clear covering.

Old 01-13-2008, 01:40 PM