New V70 owner with reservations

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2013, 11:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New V70 owner with reservations

Hello all, newbie here.

My name is Jim, Seka is my new (to me) 2000 V70.

And she has me very worried.

To give you an idea - although truly no bragging intended - on my proficiency with a wrench; I'm darned good, finding the root cause of problems and digging into them instead of just swapping major assemblies. Two recent examples this month being a "needs a $7K transmission" in a heavy truck boiling down to nothing more than a bad diode pack in an alternator, and "Needs a new steering box" to nothing more than a seized up ball joint. Although I work with electronics by trade, I've been wrenching for over 30 years and currently maintain my landlord's truck fleet on the side. Bragging done - just wanted to be clear that I'm not shy digging into something new, and 'modern' vehicles by themselves don't intimidate me.

My ex wife had a 760, and I've worked on several variants of the era. My previous experience with Volvos has been positive, and when I went looking for a new commuter, I really had my heat set on a 940 wagon.

Sadly, the Ontario rust belt has retired the majority of them, and so when i came across this very pretty and very clean V70 formerly from British Columbia, I jumped on it without doing any research.

It has a few issues with a dash light disco show pointing to the ABS module and idle control (I forget the codes offhand, but drivability and mileage are excellent and I'll sort them out in coming weeks as time permits.