Oil leaks and coolant contamination

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2013, 08:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Oil leaks and coolant contamination

Hello, I have recently bought a 1998 v70 awd. Great car, love the low rpm boosting but have recently encountered a few problems. I am a college student and hoping to fix issues next month(may) between the end of finals and the start of summer session in June. I have diagnosed as follows based on what I have read on this forum but it would be great if someone could confirm.
*The main problems include brown sludge(oil) in the expansion tank, which is leaky and loosing coolant as well. There is also a similar sludge in the dipstick, I drive short distances to class and i beleive it is simply condensation. There is also a slow oil leak under my car which i beleive to be coming from the dipstick tube and/or oil cooler lines coming from left side of radiator(primarily top line). I really hope this issue is not the headgasket, and I think it is simply a rupture in the radiator where the oil is mixing with the coolant and because of a clogged pcv system, the high pressured oil is being sent into the coolant system. i plan on doing a coolant flush, oil change, changeing radiator and expansion tank. What else should I do, oil cooler lines are expensive and since leak is minimal it is not on the top of my low-budget list. Sorry if this post is too long as I am new to the forum. thank you for sure help in advance-Tommie

Old 04-18-2013, 09:04 AM
Super Moderator
Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

I'd make sure there is no head gasket leak first.

Old 04-18-2013, 09:14 AM

Thank you for the quick reply. How do I confirm this, compression test? There is currently no smoke coming from the exhaust or anywhere in else in the engine compartment and I removed two sparkplugs, both of which looked fine. I have yet to drain the oil, but the filler cap does not have any sludge, only dipstick. Thank you again

Old 04-18-2013, 09:50 AM