General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

No clue about cars, buy Volvo anyway?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2011, 09:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No clue about cars, buy Volvo anyway?

Hi!

I'm a Grad/Phd Student in desperate need for a car. I don't have a big budget (~$5000) so I was thinking about getting a Volvo since they're famous for their durability.
But after reading through this forum it seems to me that "only" the motor is durable whereas the other parts aren't "better" than those in other cars. And as you might have noticed by now I don't have much knowledge about cars so I won't be able to do any repairs on my own unlike you guys here. There are however at least two mechanics (no big dealers) nearby that are somewhat specialized in Volvos. So to make a long story short the question is would you think buying a Volvo would be a good idea for me?

I have noticed that the cars in my price range are between 100-140k miles which, as far as I understood, seems to be the time where most of the parts need replacement, so I guess there might be more expenses incoming at the beginning, right?

Though, if I got a car as cheap as this one
DGC Auto Sales
I'd have another 1000-2000 dollars for maintenance and repairs.

Let me know what you think and thanks in advance.

Old 12-05-2011, 01:09 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The '97 850 is actually a very nice car; though that one is the non-turbo (NA) model, so it should be slightly more reliable (but a bit less fun to drive) than the turbo model.

Get it ckd out by one of your local indy volvo techs and go for it if you like it.

Old 12-05-2011, 08:28 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts