General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Volvo drove off without driver (me) eek

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2013, 11:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Volvo drove off without driver (me) eek

Hi All,

So had a VERY scary experience. Luckily nothing tragic happened but repairs will be expensive. And I really think there is something wrong with the design here.

I have a XC60 with one of those pop in keys (keyless drive).

I have been driving for 25 years without a single incident so a pretty decent driver.

Anyway, I was very stressed out and needed to pop back home to pick something up. Quick in and out.

Drove car up near gate, stopped, pulled key out and got out. Closed door walked around front of car and noticed lights and engine still on. Went around to passenger door which was locked and didnt respond to press of key. walked around back of car to driver's seat. opened driver's door as car begins to drive off. No driver in car!! luckily did not get far as it hit gate. Cold sweat at thought of what could have hppened if car was on open road, or a kid or pram was in front of the car.

Once inside my car I see that I have left car in drive and must not have pushed the off button.

I am of course a total and complete fool and need to reprioritize my life BUT is this seriously suppose to be possible? Is the car suppose to be able to drive off with no one in the drivers seat? with no key in the car?

whats the point of screeching to high heaven if i drive off with no seat belt on when it will let my car drive off without a driver???

I don't believe I am that unusual- there are lots of frazzled, brainless stressed- out people out there.

Last edited by Zharptitsa; 09-09-2013 at 11:18 AM.
Old 09-09-2013, 03:36 PM
Unhappy come on guys help me out

Some 50 views and not one person has a comment or any knowledge if this is meant to be happening

was really hoping the Volvo forum could give me some guidance.