General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Volvo or Saab Discussion

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2013, 12:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvo or Saab Discussion

Over the years I have had experience in and around both makes.

This is just to start friendly discussion and not a flame war .

I am curious about people's opinions on the two, specifically comparing the wagons (V70 and 9-5). I have been looking in person and online for a V70 and keep running across Saabs.

Is there anything specific that makes you lean one way or the other in favor of one make?

Old 09-08-2013, 09:33 PM

IMHO it depends on the year of the Saab. The older ones were good as long as you got a standard trans. The automatics were junk and expensive to replace. Parts aren't cheap. My 4th and final Saab (1996 900se) lost the brake booster ($200) then shortly after, the master cylinder ($400) I didn't fix that and sent it to the crusher. I'm new to Volvo. I have 2 and like them both. Just my 2 cents worth.

Old 09-10-2013, 12:40 PM

Originally Posted by Disco2
IMHO it depends on the year of the Saab. The older ones were good as long as you got a standard trans. The automatics were junk and expensive to replace. Parts aren't cheap. My 4th and final Saab (1996 900se) lost the brake booster ($200) then shortly after, the master cylinder ($400) I didn't fix that and sent it to the crusher. I'm new to Volvo. I have 2 and like them both. Just my 2 cents worth.
The manual transmissions were always solid.

I like the fact that so many late model Saabs had manuals. My wife won't drive one, but I prefer it in most cars.

Recently I poked around and found Saab parts to be in short supply.
GM holds patents on engines and other parts. Ownership changes of the car company coupled with halted production make it a scattered environment according to the people I know.

Old 09-13-2013, 04:46 AM