Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

18T

Old 04-12-2007, 09:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 18T

Hi guys, Im new to volvo's and this forum so any help would be much appreciated. I just got my hands on a 1998 S70 T5 5spd. Im in the process of doing stage 0 and notice..WOW that turbo isnt that that big. Ive read other threads and it seems that an 18T or 19T upgrade is pretty popular, but my dilema is that I dont know if Im running a 15T or 16T. If theres anyway to tell please let me know, and also what size turbo upgrade can i go with without having to completey restructuring my ECU or go changing internal parts. Thanks

Old 04-12-2007, 11:35 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: 18T

1. Welcome

2. Go to Volvospeed and go to the PERFORMANCE section of the forum. Read the PINNED threads in there. In the one there is a list of what turbos came on what models. You should be able to tell from that list.

2. If you go with any turbo upgrade your going to have to redo your ECU. It is just as simple as that. Without a proper ECU tune your going to be more prone to bending rods and yes it has happened on 18 and 19 T turbos in Volvos. Not to mention that you should really upgrade your exhaust as well when your upgrading to a bigger turbo like that. 3" mandrel bent downpipe to a 3" mandrel bent catback system with a straight through design muffler like a Magnaflow.

Old 04-12-2007, 11:43 AM

Internals need to be thought about when going over 300Hp.

Old 04-12-2007, 11:55 AM

I am glad your doing STAGE ZERO a lot of people miss this step and mess up later and wonder why. If your going to do this at all do this right and do it only once. This is my suggestion, you don't have to follow it but it would be wise to do so. On a side note I hope you have a boost gauge. Your going to need it.

1. Once STAGE ZERO is done get on the dyno and get a baseline of what you have to work with. With this dyno get A/F ratios.