Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Anything Goes.

A/C Compressor issue - Chevy Lumina

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 07:52 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default A/C Compressor issue - Chevy Lumina

Hi all,

Once again, I have a question concerning a non-Volvo, but since you are all so technically savvy, I like posting car questions here. And it turns out, my friends like to come to me to ask questions because I'm an engineer and like to work on my own cars.

So, my friend has an older (maybe early to mid 90's) Chevy Lumina (it's blue so we call it the Blumina). He just had an issue with the alternator and in the course of replacing it noticed the belt had "fallen off" as well. So he bought a new belt and turned the car on. Well, in the end it appears that the A/C compressor pulley is locked up and locking the belt up. He said the "big pulley" (I'll call it the crankshaft. :-) was spinning really fast and causing the belt to smoke since the belt wouldn't move. The auto parts guy came up with a quick solution - he bought a smaller belt and skipped the compressor.

Anyway, I've read tech's posts about re-shimming the compressor and was wondering if that's the sort of thing that could cause one to lock up. Any other ideas? My friend's low on cash, so I'd like to help him fix the existing compressor rather than buy a new one.

Thanks!
CJG

Old 07-22-2007, 09:34 PM
JPN
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: A/C Compressor issue - Chevy Lumina

Hello 99V70,

As to the compressor, the first thing I would do is to tap the compressor with long extension or soft-face hammer to see if it frees up.