1985 volvo 245 DL stationwagon/overdrive?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2011, 07:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 volvo 245 DL stationwagon/overdrive?

i just bought my 1st volvo and i am enjoying it very much so far but...i am not a mechanic and i have many questions so the 1st one i have is the "overdrive off" lite is on but the little button on the gear shifter doesnt make it go off...the car runs great as is but i can tell there should be another gear at higher speeds...is this something that is in imminent danger and needs to be fixed immediately ( im pretty sure its been like that a long time ) and is it a easy fix? with the car being this old ('85,260,000 miles) should i have the transmission serviced? i appreciate any/all input i can get...im not a mechanic/i dont know volvos...thanks yall...

Old 09-21-2011, 11:03 AM
Received 41 Likes on 41 Posts

This isn't an urgent fix unless you spend a lot of time driving at high speeds. Most likely causes of this failure is the overdrive relay or a bad overdrive solenoid in the transmission.

You can easily check the relay if you know how to use a phillips screwdriver. To access the relay you must remove the glove box. Open the glovebox door and remove the 5 (I think) phillips screws around edges and lift the box out. Just inside to the left you should see a whitish/grey relay with wires coming out the bottom. Pull it out with the wires still attached. Give it a whack with the plastic end of the screwdriver and then work the button on the shifter to see if that helps. If it does, then your relay is bad and you can just replace it. If you are good at soldering, you can remove the plastic top and re-solder the solder joints on the little circuit board and see if that helps. New relays run from $15 to $35 depending on where you purchase it.