1989 245DL - Help troubleshooting yet another instrument cluster issue

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2014, 08:49 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 245DL - Help troubleshooting yet another instrument cluster issue

I see several threads about instrument cluster issues, but I didn't find one that matched mine exactly.

I have alert lights, cluster bulb(main dashboard light) and speedometer (no odometer) all working just fine, but that's it. Fuel, Clock, Temp all don't work at all.

I'm just learning here so I have no idea what I'm doing. I did purchase a multimeter but have no idea how to use it to troubleshoot the problem. I'm sure the procedure is similar to ones mentioned in other threads, but honestly I had trouble following what people were talking about.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Assume I know nothing about anything because I don't. I did see a YouTube video on how to remove the cluster and I am fairly confident I can follow that successfully. I'm just not sure what to do once I get it out.

Thanks in advance,

Rob

Old 01-14-2014, 05:21 AM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

the temp and fuel gauge are on a 3-pin voltage regulator (I think the output is 9V or 10V or something) and this regulator in turn has a tiny little fuse soldered down ...

the clock is powered by a separate always-on power wire, which is off the fuse panel and goes directly to the panel

I'd need to go over the schematics to get more specific, and don't have them in front of me right now.

Old 01-14-2014, 07:54 AM

My primary concern is the temp and fuel gauge for now. So I assume I need to use the multimeter somehow to verify that power is making it to that 3 pin regulator then if it's making it that far somehow check that it's making it past the fuse. The problem is that I have no idea how to do that.