89 740- I need help

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2013, 10:02 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 89 740- I need help

Wifes 740 started acting up a few days ago. Low power, sputtering on acceleration- code 232 thrown- lean/rich. Would start and run and was drivable but ran like crap.
-Checked and Cleaned MAF- seemed ok
-Cleaned Throttle body/IAC/Flame trap
-Checked for vacuum leaks but couldn't find any
-Replaced air cleaner
-Radio suppression relay clicks
-Fuel pump relay seemed ok
-02 sensor is fairly new
- checked FPR by connecting a fuel line and starting- got nice flow of fuel
-TPS seems ok
Both fuel pumps would come on and whir until I changed the fuel filter- now the main pump near the filter doesn't seem to come on and the car won't start where it would BEFORE I changed the filter. My wife needs her car and I'm not sure what to do next. Why would the fuel pump stop working because I changed the filter? Could the pump have been the problem all along.? I'm pretty new to all this and pretty frustrated. Any help would be greatly apprerciated.
Thanks,

Old 09-29-2013, 10:48 AM
lev
Received 134 Likes on 125 Posts

How did you "check" all these items?
Can you assume that once checked the part is 100% OK?
Are sure you don't have an engine "misfire" due to something like bad plug/wire/cap, etc. i.e. "tune up" items?

If your problem started with the fuel filter change, then this is a good area to address before anything else. The pump certainly could have been the problem all along--I personally don't change fuel filters routinely, unless there are symptoms...
What you describe does sound like a fuel pump problem...

Old 09-29-2013, 02:05 PM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

if the main fuel pump stopped working after you changed the filter, first thing I'd check would be the wiring at the main fuel pump

Old 09-30-2013, 12:16 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post