91- 940 Turbo Symptom (Newbie Here)

Old 09-27-2007, 12:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91- 940 Turbo Symptom (Newbie Here)

Hello, as I said I'm new here, as well as to Volvo.
I bought a 91, 940 Turbo a year ago. The fuel pump in the tank was bad, so I got it really cheap. The person who had it couldn't figure out the problem got fed up and "gave it away" really cheap.
That said, I did a little looking and found and fixed the problem. Well I have been driving it for a year with this problem-
when I'm driving non-aggressive and the turbo isn't in full boost ( indicated by boost gauge) it seems to be fine. When I floor it and it is boosting it starts to spit and choke. At first I thought it was some sort of govener, it almost feels like that. But here latley I got P***ed of and pulled to the side of the road, turned the car off and sat for about 30 seconds. Started her back up and the problem was gone. Now this doesen't happen all the time, and it doesen't matter if the engine is cold or at running temp. It is the same, when it does it I pull over and restart it then it's fine. Strange hugh? I'm a novice mechanic at best, got a few tools so I can change the radio antenna and I have NEVER owned a turbo. My first thought isplug wires, but wouldn't they "act up" all the time? Or is it just when they have a huge voltage running thru them? I don't know and I'm sure there is a thousand sensors to change, but a few helpfull comments might point me in the right direction.
Thanks in advance
Apeman

Old 09-28-2007, 05:53 PM
Administrator
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
Default RE: 91- 940 Turbo Symptom (Newbie Here)

Maybe the fuel pressure regulator is going bad?

Old 10-01-2007, 06:33 PM

How much boost are you hitting at wot?

Sounds like you are hitting fuel cut with that issue, so check the pumps, and fuel filter. Otherwise itcould be an overboosting issue, check the wastegate, vaccume lines.
It could also be a bad maf.

Nick

Old 10-02-2007, 01:49 AM