Automotive Shop Teacher Looking For Info

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2017, 10:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Automotive Shop Teacher Looking For Info

Hi I am a High school show teacher. I have a 1988 Volvo 740 I believe based on this Vin Number I decoded (YV1FX8741J3238429). From what I can tell I have a B230FT engine. I am looking for information on this engine, but I can't find alot, I want to learn what I can about it to see if its worth using as a learning tool in my class, and I have never worked on a volvo car before, or a turbo charged engine for that matter.

Can anyone steer me towards a good resource on this engine?

Old 03-17-2017, 03:58 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm sure someone will be along here to point ya in the right direction... but them fellas at turbobricks.com know pretty much everything and every resource/ link on that engine. And the forum is VERY active.

Old 03-17-2017, 06:36 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by kmcghee
Hi I am a High school show teacher. I have a 1988 Volvo 740 I believe based on this Vin Number I decoded (YV1FX8741J3238429). From what I can tell I have a B230FT engine. I am looking for information on this engine, but I can't find alot, I want to learn what I can about it to see if its worth using as a learning tool in my class, and I have never worked on a volvo car before, or a turbo charged engine for that matter.

Can anyone steer me towards a good resource on this engine?

A Volvo B230FT engine is as good as any to teach or learn on. Not sure what info your looking for but I have have been able to find everything I have ever needed for the B230, parts , torque specs., etc. You can also still get paper (book)manuals for these to.