Driveshaft woes

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2013, 07:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driveshaft woes

I'm a newb here. I have poked around on other sites and always find that you guys seem to have the best advise. Thanks in advance.

So I recently acquired a 93 245 with M47 and have been going through all the long neglected maintenance points. Noticed that the flex plate and center bearing were in need of replacement. Ordered all the parts including a rear most u joint and proceeded. After removing the shaft from the car I carefully marked the two halves at the slip joint. I then tried to separate the two halves and found that they would not budge. The only way to get the two apart involved fire and a BFH. I finally got it free and found that the splines were coated in some otherworldly resin that resisted all solvents, wire wheel, and fire. The only way I could get the splines cleaned up enough to reinstall was to heat it till nearly glowing and then scour it with a wire brush. The grease boot had long since vanished and i guess the grease just petrified inside the joint. Once cleaned up and greased it slipped nicely into place. All other parts went in without issue (u joint, center bearing and rubber mount, grease boot and flex plate). Reinstalled shaft making sure that two halves went back together the same way they came apart and took her for a test drive expecting to notice a reduction in the driveline noise. No such luck! Now I have a terrible vibration at and around 30mph and a low pitched drone. Vibration seems to dissapear on the highway.