Engine & gearbox swap options on 1980 245

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2018, 03:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine & gearbox swap options on 1980 245

Good day everyone, newbie here, not on Volvo's but on the forum.

i inherited a 1980 245 estate from my late dad.

What's the easiest engine and gear box swap for more power? A 850 turbo 5 cylinder? A 4.0 bmw v8 with the 6 speed gearbox? A Ford V8 and Tremec from a Mustang?

All ideas appreciated and welcome.

Alex

Old 05-11-2018, 08:13 AM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

If you are looking at cost and reliability and ease of installation I would go with the Ford combo. This has been done before so my bet is there is info on the net about this swap.

Old 05-11-2018, 08:41 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts

agree on the V8 ford. Adaptor kits can be found. Let me get you started and post pics when done :-)

https://jagsthatrun.com/collections/volvo/volvo-200

Old 05-12-2018, 12:16 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's funny that this question comes up just after we were discussing this very thing in another thread. Here's the link:

https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-...0-wagon-96385/

The Ford/Tremec option is a good choice. But personally, I favor going with Chevrolet goodies. As I stated in that other thread, the GM engines are dimensionally a little smaller than the Ford and they give a little more working room when trying to make everything fit. And there's an adaptor to fit a Tremec to all sorts of engines.

That being said, there are a lot of guys out there that went the Ford route and they have super clean installations and have gotten really good results with the Fords.