General Volvo 940 Maintenance Questions...

Old 08-22-2009, 12:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General Volvo 940 Maintenance Questions...

Hey guys,

Just got a 1994 Volvo 940..it's old and has 150k miles, but the owner I got it from had all of the service records and the mechanic check-up before purchase went well.

Here's my questions. I'm completely new to Volvo's and not very experienced with vehicle maintenance in general, but I'm kind of a DIY guy, thus why I want to know all I can about keeping this car going strong (and look nice!)

First off, I'm going to do a check on the brake pads tomorrow (the brakes seem to be a little whiny and the mechanic placed the front ones at 30%). Will this require actually removing the entire tire (and if so, anything to watch out for during this process) or are the pads visible without removing the tires (as I've heard some are)?
I'm taking the car in for an oil change at place close by, partly because they are offering a brake check along with the oil change for a good price. I'd like to compare my own reading of the brake pad thickness with what they give me.
If I do have to replace the front brake pads with a mechanic, what should I expect to pay? Less than $400?

Secondly, the rear plastic black bumper has a scrape/scratch area with some bent out portions. I'd like to just heat this region up and 'melt' it back onto the bumper to remove the holes. Is this easily done? What sort of tool should I use for this (roommate suggested a blowtorch...sounded kind of overkill).