jerky acceleration, and stalling, also recently very poor idle

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2008, 02:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default jerky acceleration, and stalling, also recently very poor idle

If anyone can help me solve this problem it be greatly appreciated.
I'm new to volvo and have a 1990 740 GL 291,565 miles with the Regina system.

Starts up idles fine, then after about 6 seconds, in park, it starts becoming very unstable. Sometimes seems like might be ok, so you go to drive and has horrible intermitant acceleration, as if you took your foot off the pedal completely for 1.5 seconds then smashed it again over and over.

About month ago, when just started randomly dying most of the time at slowing down to a stop, but couple times at 40mph and 60mph- just stalls. But always restarts after about 30seconds. Next it started having this idle problem, but then would stabilize and I'd drive off and it would have the acceleration problem but it would eventually go away.

Now it is really undriveable, the idle is intermintantly jumping around between 500-1500rpms and if you try and drive, if does stabilize, it has jerky, hestitant, intermitant acceleration - usually will die at some point.

I had given it a tune up thinking just needed one, bought used with 289000miles
new timing belt, water pump, tensioner pulley
new fuel filter and air filter
new distributor cap, rotor and sparks plugs - wires seem good
cleaned out the TB by removing it and replaced flame trap

Drove good to work - 10miles, but barely made it home (jerky acceleration problem)and died as i pulled into the drive way.

Question 1:
fuel related problem?, but not sure what - if the regulator or pump or relay were bad,the carwouldn'trestart would it?

Question 2:
the Power Stage/coil pack(regina) - if that was faulty, the car wouldn't restart would it b/c the coil is part of the power stage?

Qustion 3:
Could be vacuum line leak?