My big 740 mads plan/questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2010, 11:32 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My big 740 mads plan/questions

Hi all, I’m relatively new to the form but having done a good deal of reading both here and elsewhere I have created a mod plan for my 1989 740 Turbo that I just wanted to run by anyone who may have answers/suggestions for me. As I’m only at the planning stage please do come back and have a read another time if you don’t have time now as your knowledge and experience is invaluable.
Unlike previous cars I’ve owned, I’ve decided to make a good plan, gather the bits and fit them all in one go (in summer 2011 hopefully). My previous car was a little 1.3 hatch that I just kept doing more and more ridiculous mods to until it was fairly quick but achieved about 15mpg, like an angry, greedy little puppy!
My aim for the Volvo (having been looking for a manual 740 turbo saloon in good nick for 5years!) is for it to be fairly stock looking and not too bad on fuel, until I push a few buttons and all goes mental!
With this in mind I’ll be using the following controls:
· GFB Deceptor Pro in-car adjustable BOV (adjusts between recirc and atmos dump)
· QTP Electronic Exhaust Cut-out
· Greddy Profec B Spec II Boost Controller (the only thing I have fitted and will be fitting until the big job)
· Megasquirt with switchable control between maps (need to read more about this – injection is fairly new to me!)
· Home-made HHO generator (to help fuel economy when in economy mode)
Bearing in mind I’m in the UK, the actual mods I HOPE to be able to be doing to the B230ET are as follows:
1) I have seen that the crank from a Volvo Penta marine engine is a straight swap to make the 2.3 a 2.5 litre and that I will need different pistons but not sure which?

With everything considered I’m pretty sure I’ll also need some forged rods and pistons (as I believe my engine has the supposedly weaker 9mm rods?) but not sure which new ones I’ll need?