My First Volvo

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2010, 06:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My First Volvo

I just bought a 1989 Volvo 740 GL B230F with 256,116 miles on it.
I'm a novice with car's but I learn very quickly.
It had oil ALL OVER the motor and chassis. I cleaned it off and almost immediately oil started dripping from the filler cap. I thought this was the main source of the "leak" anyways. I bought a new gasket that is in the mail because, nobody local had them or would order them..

I have to get a new wheel and 2 tires so it's on jack stands right now.

Next I'm trying to find a repair manual for this vehicle and failing..
This is all i can find so far:
Ebay Repair Manual
If anyone knows an alternative to this I would greatly appreciate it.
I need to repair the non-opperational temperature gauge and I know it could be a sensor or just a loose/broken wire/gauge.

The car has some NASTY oil in it and I plan on doing an oil change this weekend. I was just wondering if there is any specific brand or viscosity I should invest in (Southwest FL mind you it doesn't get that cold)?

Anyways Thank you very much!
I can't wait to get this started!

Old 07-12-2010, 07:03 PM

Go to any autoparts store and buy the Chilton guide for your volvo. Mine was $20 when i bought it a few days ago and its actually really handy.

Thats all I can really help you with. All I know about working on cars is what I have had to do to mine. If you have *ANY* trouble with an alternator on a 1991 240, I'm your man. hahaha

Last edited by Noggy; 07-12-2010 at 07:06 PM.
Old 07-12-2010, 08:41 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts