n00b with a 940

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2013, 03:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile n00b with a 940

Hi guys, I'm new here, but not to cars or forums. My name's Alex and I bought a '92 940 GL 2.3L from a friend who was going back overseas. It had a few things wrong with it so I decided that this would be my project car (I'm not a mechanic, but I'm mechanically inclined and I took auto shop in high school and have performed tune-ups/oil changes on my previous cars). It reports it has 130k miles, but since the speedometer works sometimes I have no idea of actual mileage and mileage is exempt on the title. I fixed some of the problems with the 940 just by Googling things. There seems to be plenty of material to keep these old cars operating!

I've always had a soft spot for old Volvos because of the boxy look. This is my first Volvo (and first RWD sedan) having coming from owning and driving FWD American cars for the last 11 years (my first foreign car is my daily driver: a 2012 VW Passat 2.5L 5MT). The Volvo actually drives quite nice for a 22-year-old car. It's surprisingly quiet and really comfortable. It also has the original owner's manual and work receipts from when the car was new (it has missing paperwork from 2002 to 2011). I learned it was originally purchased in Houston, TX and stayed in Houston until the late '90s/early 2000s when the car made its way to Austin (where it is now).

There were a few things that needed work when I got the car:
  • Trans would not shift into overdrive. I replaced the relay and it's good.
  • Passenger side strut mount was broken on my friend's watch. He drove it broken for a couple months at which time it impaled itself through the hood. I drove it like that for a month before I replaced both the shocks and strut mounts on the front with KYB strut mounts and Bilstein Touring shocks. The new struts make it handle bumps very well and I'm impressed with the results.