old electrical garbage bypass?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2021, 09:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default old electrical garbage bypass?

I'm new to cars, period. I'm a motorcycle guy. I've got lots of older bikes, none of which have emissions crap. my state doesn't have really strict emissions laws, so I can get away with almost anything. I've got a 91 240 wagon that has various assorted electrical gremlins that I can't figure out for the life of me, and why would I replaced 30 year old garbage electrical components with 30 year old garbage electrical components? is there a way to bypass things like o2 sensors, the cursed MAF sensor, and things like this that are required on newer vehicles in some states? this thing accelerates up to 45 like a 49cc scooter with flat tires. above 55 it's totally fine. people have been honking at me because it will bog down if I give it more than 1/3 throttle upon initial acceleration. I've thrown 3 MAF sensors at it in the last month. I'm getting tired of shelling out that money. something keeps fouling them. each time I replace one, it works fine for two or three days, then it goes back to turd mode. test it, it's a bad MAF. replace and hedge bets on when I'll need another. unplugging it makes it run worse. I recently blew out the tail pipe just before the cat (something else that I'd like to get rid of) after a particularly bad backfire, and it had absolutely no effect what so ever on performance.

Old 01-04-2021, 11:47 PM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

well, you wanna go old school, strip off the entire fuel injection system, and replace it with carbs, you can get an intake manifold that fits these blocks from Volvo Penta marine, and mount a couple sidedraft SU/Zenith style carbs.

good luck with your fuel economy if you tune for performance, and good luck with your performance if you tune for fuel economy.