Rear brake job

Old 03-18-2011, 02:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear brake job

I bought a set of pads, rotors and calipers for the rear end of my 1995 940. It failed state inspection because apparently the calipers were rusted pretty severely. I bought rebuilt calipers from fcp groton that had pads already installed in them, as well as rotors. Total $240, 140 once i return the original calipers; pretty sweet deal if you ask me.

Anyway, since the pads are already loaded (FCP Reference Number 079-0705 if anyone wants to check them out), I was wondering if I needed any special tools to do the install? I browsed matthew's site and this one, but couldn't find a decent rear brake install thread. I would assume that it's bolt-off bolt-on. I'd rather not pay out the rear for a job I could do myself.

Any advice?
By the way, I'm no car expert, but I'm starting to like working on it myself. Seems like every weekend, something needs to be done.

Old 03-18-2011, 02:38 PM
Super Moderator
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Yup, there's always something to do until you can get 'em back to stage zero. Then, you get a reprieve until the first parts you replaced start failing! Rear brakes are as straight forward as the fronts. Buying loaded calipers is a time saver for sure and FCP always has super prices. Especially w/ their 15% off and free shipping right now. The only thing that may throw you a curve is the loaded caliper not sliding over the rotor; that's just a matter of opening the bleed nipples and prying it open. I like working on my cars too...not only are RWD Volvos very user friendly, knowing how things go together helps when they start giving off warning symptoms in the future.

Old 03-18-2011, 03:07 PM