Replacing speakers in 940

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2012, 02:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing speakers in 940

I am new to this site. I was thinking about replacing my front door speakers on my 1992 940 GL. I bought a couple Bose speakers off Ebay that seem like they should fit, but i've never done this before and dont know anything about speakers. Is there a specific type of speaker i need for the front doors, or will any speaker work as long as it fits? here is the speaker i bought on this link....
BOSE 4 1/2" OEM AUTOMOTIVE SPEAKERS 1 PAIR AC DELCO | eBay

Can anyone help me out?

Old 08-14-2012, 04:24 AM
Default Bose Speakers in 1992 940

Originally Posted by abluesdude
I am new to this site. I was thinking about replacing my front door speakers on my 1992 940 GL. I bought a couple Bose speakers off Ebay that seem like they should fit, but i've never done this before and dont know anything about speakers. Is there a specific type of speaker i need for the front doors, or will any speaker work as long as it fits? here is the speaker i bought on this link....
BOSE 4 1/2" OEM AUTOMOTIVE SPEAKERS 1 PAIR AC DELCO | eBay

Can anyone help me out?
Hey bluesdude

In the same situation myself. If my 1994 is any indicator the 4.5 inch speakers are too small. (Unless you have an adapter). The shape looks right however because the top of my speakers have been shortened to allow the cover to fit.. although you probably know all this.

May I ask how you are progressing to date?

Old 08-14-2012, 04:37 AM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

see my posts in this thread
https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-...o-940-a-64971/

5.25" speakers fit in the holes, but the screw holes won't line up, you really need an adapter plate like I linked to go with them

6" speakers also fit in the holes, but you need to trim the flange of the speaker slightly so the volvo OEM cover fits back on.