Retrofit AC Kit Questions

Old 08-08-2015, 08:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Retrofit AC Kit Questions

Well, a year later and I an finally going to tackle the non-working AC in our 740 Wagon. I have looked around and found an entire kit on Rockauto for less than $300. It has a new compressor, drier, and orifice tube. It also converts it to R134a. My question, since I have no experience with AC work, is will I be able to install the parts and charge the system or should I just take it to someone and have them do it the right way? It has no freon and the compressor does not work, even when jumped, so I am guessing the system is empty.

I thought I could replace all the parts easy enough and then recharge myself, but I have been seeing that it has to be vacuumed out and pressurized, etc. What say you guys?

Old 08-08-2015, 10:04 AM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by BBslider001
Well, a year later and I an finally going to tackle the non-working AC in our 740 Wagon. I have looked around and found an entire kit on Rockauto for less than $300. It has a new compressor, drier, and orifice tube. It also converts it to R134a. My question, since I have no experience with AC work, is will I be able to install the parts and charge the system or should I just take it to someone and have them do it the right way? It has no freon and the compressor does not work, even when jumped, so I am guessing the system is empty.

I thought I could replace all the parts easy enough and then recharge myself, but I have been seeing that it has to be vacuumed out and pressurized, etc. What say you guys?