Volvo 240 manual transmission problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 03:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvo 240 manual transmission problems

I have a 1990 volvo 240 with a manual 5 speed with around 260k miles. I had the clutch replaced about 2 years ago. I noticed a while back that when the clutch was not engaged, there was a lot of loud noise, sort of like ungreased bearings rotating. Later, the transmission had a lot of winding noise in every gear except fourth. Now, I get the winding and scraping noises in the same gears, with occasional squeaks. I had the fluid replaced about 4 months ago with high mileage fluid. Any ideas as to why there is so much increasing noise?

Old 07-26-2011, 05:48 AM

I am not an expert but I would say the throwout bearing in the clutch is going bad. does the noise stop when you push the clutch in? If so its the throwout bearing.

Old 07-26-2011, 11:44 AM

Yeah, it does stop when the clutch is in. I'll check into that. Thanks!

Old 07-26-2011, 12:33 PM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

when they replaced the clutch, they really should have replaced the throwout bearing on principle, as that's the bearing that pushes the clutch away from the flywheel... anyways, throwout bearing noises that *I've* heard generally INCREASE when I pressed the clutch in.

a noise that stops when you step on the clutch is more likely an input (or other) shaft bearing inside the transmission, especially if it only does it in certain gears.

Old 07-26-2011, 04:41 PM

Originally Posted by pierce
when they replaced the clutch, they really should have replaced the throwout bearing on principle, as that's the bearing that pushes the clutch away from the flywheel... anyways, throwout bearing noises that *I've* heard generally INCREASE when I pressed the clutch in.

a noise that stops when you step on the clutch is more likely an input (or other) shaft bearing inside the transmission, especially if it only does it in certain gears.