Volvo 240 wagon lack of heat

Old 11-18-2014, 06:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvo 240 wagon lack of heat

Hello, this is my first post here, so a quick intro, then onto the big question

I have a 91 Volvo 240 wagon that I bought for my other half. I got tired of fixing the troublesome American car, and I'll leave it at that.

I'm a Mercedes enthusiast, and an auto mechanic by trade. So vehicles, especially quirky European ones don't scare me. And this Volvo is one simple car, well, mostly. I have a million of my own projects, and was hoping this could be a nice, simple, "set it and forget it" car. I realize there's no such thing, but my intentions were to just replace everything then let it roll. I have yet to do most of it... but in my experience with European cars, as long as they're free of rust, replacing all the wear items will generally create a very dependable, and long lasting car.

The 240 is in nice shape, I picked it up with 138K miles on it, and a monsterous stack of service records. It was fairly well cared for, and was purchased from the original owner. It was dealer serviced for much of its life, and is rust free.

Even after replacing the rear subframe bushings, it still makes horrible noises, and rides like a lumber wagon... I'll get to my questions about that in another post.

The problem at hand here is the heater. As the weather got colder, the heater was not working well. I pulled the thermostat out, and it was broken apart, so I replaced it.

I refilled the coolant, and the temp gauge warmed up to just shy of halfway on the gauge, the heat was powerful, and worked well. It's been fine for about 3 weeks.

Today, it's 18F degrees, and the heat is very much lacking. The temp gauge is barely breaking loose. Is it common for these cars to run cold in cold weather... or could a thermostat have failed already in just a few weeks?