Volvo 940 steering gear replacement

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2015, 05:30 AM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Volvo 940 steering gear replacement

I tried without any luck to find a guide that describes how to replace the steering gear (or steering rack as they say on the other side of the ocean) , furthermore the instructions in the Haynes manual are really synthetic so I’ve decided to write a guide by myself.
This is the english translation of the italian guide I've published on volvoclub.it as thanksgiving to all my “unknow firends” that taught me a lot of things about the fantastic Volvo 940 writing many guides and howtos on many forums around the world (obviously volvoforums.com, but also volvoclub.org.uk, turbobricks.com, matthewsvolvosite.com, forums.swedespeed.com, volvotips.com, etc.)

This job is quite easy and it doesn’t require any special tool except a standard ball joint separator that may be necessary to remove the track rod ends.
I’m not a professional mechanic, I spent near 8 ours to carry out this job in my garage, doing it alone, using jack stands and standard ratchets.

Below the necessary tools:
- a good set of DIY garage tools (trolley jack, axle stands, ratchets, torque wrench, etc.)
- PPE - personal protective equipment (goggles, nitrile gloves, FFP3 dust mask)
- 2 liters of ATF Dexron 3 fluid
- new or regenerated steering gear
- n. 2 new track rod ends
- n. 2 + 2 banjo fitting gaskets
- ratchet belt

Before all you must correctly identify your steering gear so you can order the right spare parts. On the Volvo 940 can be installed 4 different type of racks, you can find your type simply by looking the number of your service plate: the last digit should be 1 for Koyo, 2 for CamGear, 3 for ZF and 4 for TRW (the most likely)
What you should absolutely know is that there are two type of steering shaft joints, the ZF type is like this:

while the TRW is like this one: