'91 960 timing issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2011, 10:34 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '91 960 timing issue

New to this forum. I am a mechanic that recently got a '91 960 wagon from a client. The water pump had gone out & it had jumped time & bent the valves. Another mechanic removed the head & had it fixed. When he reassembled it, he could not get it to start. He gave up on it, so it was brought to me. I checked compression & it has 180-200 PSI in all cylinders. & also checked for fire & 2-6 plugs are firing. I suspect #1 may have a bad coil.

I removed the timing cover to check the timing. When I lined up the timing marks for the cam gears, I could not see a mark on the crank gear. I removed the tensioner & rotated the crank & found a notch between 2 teeth, in the valley. I though that might be the timing mark, so I set up the belt & tried to rotate it by hand, but the valves hit the pistons, so I know that is wrong. The piston is near BDC when I use that mark, & I am reading here that it should be near TDC.

I have read that the timing mark can be a notch on the a gear tooth, or a notch in the valley, so I dont know which it is for a 91. I do not see any other marks on the crank gear. Can anyone help me to know where the mark is & maybe show a GOOD picture of it? I have seen plenty of bad pictures, but I need a good one so I can set the timing up correctly.

Also, should the piston be exactly at TDC, or before TDC when the marks are lined up? Any help would be appreciated.

Old 04-14-2011, 02:00 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

I did the belt on my '97, not sure how different they are. Mine has a knotch on the tooth and I have also seen a knotch on the top of the crank where the serpentine belt rides.

Timing belt replacement instructions on a 1997 Volvo 960

Old 04-15-2011, 07:25 AM