Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

16T with MBC

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 04:49 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 16T with MBC

So I'm getting ready to put a 16T on muh car. just wondering how high I can boost with an MBC. Also, how high could I boost with an ecu upgrade? And finally, whats the most efficient way to upgrade the ecu? (sorry, Im new to the turbo stuff)

Old 03-11-2010, 06:24 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

1. Have you done STAGE ZERO?

"Full stage 0 list:
-Plugs
-cap/rotor
-oil/transflush
-filter (oil)
-hoses (the little vac lines, Get Silicone versions)
-samco hose kit or Stylin Motors Inc. (Turbo Models ONLY)
-02 sensors
-fuel pumps
-clean injectors
-clean IC/IC plumbing (Turbo Models ONLY)
-Air filter
-plug wires"

****If you haven't done any of this then DO IT BEFORE YOU UPGRADE YOUR TURBO, PUT A MBC ON OR GET AN ECU UPGRADE.****

2. Included in the STAGE ZERO list but not listed above should be a boost gauge. One that can read 25 In Hg / 25 PSI. Have this installed with all your other STAGE ZERO items. Before you put the new turbo on, before you put the MBC on and before you do an ECU upgrade if you do an ECU upgrade.

3. A 16T can hold 15PSI all day long and 17PSI is about the max you should run on it. 15PSI is the safe max PSI you'd want to run. Just an FYI a 16T isn't much bigger then a
15g. This is the PSI you'd want to run with a MBC or an ECU upgrade.