Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

CEL and Stalling Issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2014, 04:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CEL and Stalling Issues

Hi everyone,
I posted on here about this issue awhile ago but am looking for possible ways to figure out which cause is most likely or the easiest to test. Any advice would be appreciated PLEASE.

My CEL came on and I had someone read the code about 3 months ago. They said it was a P0171 reading and the 3 most likely causes are a faulty MAF or heated 02 sensor or a large vacuum leak. In addition to these, I have been told to replace the PCV system or to replace the fuel pump relay. I need help narrowing it down because I am a poor college student and am having my friend help me with the work as I know little about cars.

Here's what I have observed:

Sometimes the car will run totally fine. Other times it will stall while I am driving - when it does stall it is when I'm at a stop or just starting to accelerate. Other than the stalling there are no other problems.

The check engine light doesn't stay on, sometimes it will be on and sometimes it wont be. It does NOT seem to directly correlate to it stalling. Sometimes it will stall and the check engine light won't even be on. Weird?

I have been driving it the past 3 months and the issue has not gotten any worse. Sometimes I will drive it for up to an hour and there will be no stalling.

I did do a PCV test with a rubber glove over where you put the engine oil - the glove did blow up indicating it needs to be serviced. The problem is my friend has never done this before and is wary about doing the job (which takes about 3-6 hours since you have to take everything apart) when it might not even be the problem.