Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

New 850 Issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2015, 11:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 850 Issues

I just bought a new to me 850 GLT n/a for $1000. Of course, they guy said it ran fine and had no issues (complete lies, as par for the course). I've decided, since I don't absolutely NEED a car, to make this my pet project. I've never worked on cars before, but it seems this is a great starting point. Issues I've found- radiator is leaking. It's obvious the guy put some sort of No-Leak sludge into the coolant. Also, the heater core. I've ordered both a new radiator and heater core, and have watched some videos, so I think I can tackle this on my own. Any advice/pointers/anecdotes?

Also, the oil was really....really...really old, until I changed it. I noticed on the dip-stick there was a light colored GOOP, which really worries me that the head gasket is blown. The car starts and drives just fine, no overheats although I haven't driven it far due to fear of the coolant leak. The underbelly of the oil cap was not goopy or milkshake colored, the coolant reservoir doesn't seem to have oil in it (although it's hard to tell from the stop-leak junk), so I'm wondering if there's a surefire way to tell. I will be replacing the radiator and heater-core this weekend, is there anything I should be on the lookout for while doing this task? I don't have the monies for a mechanic and even if the head is blown, I'll be doing it mostly myself, so please chime in and give a new Volvo owner/brand new mechanic some advice!

Old 12-14-2015, 11:09 PM

Also, the timing belt was replaced last year so that is at least one relief to be had in a sea of repairs.

Old 12-15-2015, 09:05 AM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts