Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Nooby needs advice on repairing 850r PLEASE!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2010, 03:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nooby needs advice on repairing 850r PLEASE!!!

Hello to all. I am new to volvoforums and i must admit its a great site...keep it going. Let me just say thank you in advance and sorry for being so verbose. I just purchased a 'supposedly' clean '97' 850r wagon which is quickly turning into a nightmare. The good: exterior/interior are in great shape for age (about 140k)...8 out of 10. Now for the bad: had my mechanic check it out after the purchase (extremely stupid i know, but it looked so good) and it needs work. For starters it needs an odometer gear. For sure it needs valve cover resealed, possibly camshaft seals as well. Needs timing belt/water pump and complete tune-up (plugs, wires, disty cap/rotor). Needs PCV system along with related things. Needs rear main seal sooner than later as well. Needs upper engine and tranny mount. Also needs every fluid flushed/filled...and haven't even inspected suspension and axles! I've researched and found some of these jobs easy to do...and others not so much. Not familiar with volvo's so I'd sooner have my mechanic do it correctly the first time. Purchased car for $3600 (yes I got porked ). My mechanic is estimating at least $1500 off the top (not including rear main seal)...with more charges surely to be incurred if more is found wrong with it. Surprisingly enough I drove the car 800 miles home in current condition . All i felt was vibration from bad mounts/worn suspension and smell of oil from leaks...cruised at 85mph strong for 11hrs . Not sure if this is a testament to how well they are built or I just got lucky. My question: Is the car worth fixing and keeping? (possible $2k investment) or should i just count my losses. Hearing from others that there is a