Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Where to find Writups??

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2007, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where to find Writups??

I have an '96 850 Glt wagon that needs a little work to be perfect. I am looking for some help on the following issues (Everything verified by a local Volvo mechanic):

R&R the Front Control arms (Ball joints are bad)
- Is this something I can do in my driveway? I have good tools, but no lift! any specialty tools needed?
R&R the Timing Belt (145,000 miles)
- How much time should I plan on this taking? I am a competent backyard mechanic! Where do I get the parts?
Adjust the window spray nozels
- They clean the sunroof more than the front window!!
R&R and Find the wipers for the headlights
- Are they realy only a dealer item?
Fix the third row seat latch (Female part is missing)
- Do you have the part number for this for a black interior?
Rear brake lights are intermitent... Where do I start to diagnose this?

Thanks everyone for any help you can offer!
Matt

Old 03-14-2007, 06:40 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Where to find Writups??

http://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/volvo_850.php

You can finda lot of interesting info there.

Old 03-14-2007, 06:58 PM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

The washer nozzle are easy to aim.

1. Get a pen.

2. Stick the pen tip into the washer nozzle.

3. Push it up or down depending on which way it was spraying previously. In your case you said it is spraying the sunroof. So push them down.

4. Test them

5. Re-aim if you have to.

Old 03-14-2007, 06:58 PM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

Timing belt I wouldn't do myself personally. You can really screw the car up if you do it yourself and you do something slightly wrong.

I would have a good local mech do it for you.

Old 03-14-2007, 07:20 PM

ORIGINAL: S70driver