Volvo C70 This sporty coupe has a three-piece retractable hardtop for unsurpassed fun whether the the top is up or down.

2000 c70 convertible top issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2014, 08:21 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Unhappy 2000 c70 convertible top issues

I'm new to this whole thing, so bare with me.

I just bought a 2000 c70 Convertible from the originally owner. She has never had this problem happen before but it's also been sitting for a few years. I am an idiot and didn't try and open the top when she was with me to see if it worked. And the nearest Volvo dealership is 2 hours away and our import mechanics are pretty expensive so I am hoping this is a DIY easy fix.

To open up the top, according to the manual, all you have to do is hold down one button. So I do that. And the back window part unlatches from the car and goes to fold up and than just stops. The front doesn't lift up, the convertible top trunk thing doesn't lift up. Nothing. I know you can get to the place where the fuses for it are to see if those are blown, I just haven't been able to get all the way under there. A friend doesn't think thats the problem and thinks that it's locked somewhere up front, but I don't know how to get it unlocked if that is the case.

Any help or advice?

The following users liked this post:
don10autos (10-19-2023)
Old 01-19-2014, 04:29 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default C70 top info

No locks on the top.
I just bought my 2001 C70 too, still researching it but here's a few things I have found out.
1) Car has to be in Park
2) Emergency brake has to be on
Once you've done this, just hold the button down.
The top will go up/down completely by itself 100%
When putting the top up, keep holding the button until you hear the latches lock.
NOT just until you see the top make contact with the top of the windshield area, it took several seconds longer for it to actually latch after contact.
ALSO......when the top goes down, the windows do too.