Volvo C70 This sporty coupe has a three-piece retractable hardtop for unsurpassed fun whether the the top is up or down.

Suspension Time

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2009, 12:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Time

2000 Volvo C70 HT w/ 5spd Manual. One of my struts is shot and I also just discovered that the spring pad I just installed was recalled so seeing as I have to replace the spring pad and get another alignment I might as well address the bad strut and try and improve the car's handling characteristics without ruining the ride quality.

I am not a suspension expert so I figured I would post what I am thinking of purchasing to see what people think. I guess I should start off by saying that I think the stock setup is a little too soft and has too much body roll in the turns, so I'm trying to stiffen up the ride a bit and minimize body roll.

Struts/shocks: Bilstein Touring (I have read good things about the Koni FSDs, but they would cost an extra $300 and I'd rather put that money towards anti-sway bars)

Springs: Eibach Pro Kit. I talked to the guys at Eibach and learned that they designed these springs to work with the stock struts/shocks but suggested that the Bilstein Touring would work well with these springs too.

Anti-sway Bars: a set of IPDs (does anyone else make anti-sway bars for this car???)

I live in California and a lot of the highways are concrete with expansion joints so I don't want the suspension to be too stiff. My last car was a stock Acura Integra. I really liked the way it handled but not a fair comparison as that car was a lot lighter.

Thoughts? Oh, has anyone done this and found alignment numbers that work better than the stock numbers for a setup like this?

Old 07-03-2009, 06:20 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

The Bilstein's are basically OEM. Probably a little bit above OEM standards. So they will be good.