Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Acceleration and starting issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2019, 11:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Acceleration and starting issues

Howdy,
I've been driving a 2000 s40 for about 5 years now. The od is at 149k. I've been experiencing this random acceleration without driver input nearly every time I drive the car for several months now. At times I'm driving without taking my foot off the brake to avoid reckless driving. It will also rev high for brief periods when in neutral. More recently I've been experiencing trouble starting the car, though it eventually will start if I keep trying. I'm beginning to think the two symptoms are related. The car is also giving me two check engine codes: p0420 (catalyst system efficiency below threshold), and p0128 (coolant temp below thermostat regulating temp). I imagine a sensor of some type is on the fritz but I don't know where to start. Anybody else had an experience like this/ have an idea what needs fixin?

Old 05-08-2019, 02:31 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts