Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

advice for a new '00 s40 owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2012, 03:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default advice for a new '00 s40 owner

Hi all! I'm new to the world of Volvo, having just bought one myself a few days ago. I bought an '00 S40, and I love it. Some questions for those more experienced owners. I am looking at some repairs coming this summer, and I need some advice from you guys.

I need to check the exhaust manifold bolts, because that seems to be a common problem with these cars. How would I go about doing it? Can I just remove the turbo cover to gain access to the bolts, or do I have to remove the turbocharger, drain the cooling system, and everything else the Haynes manual says to do?

My other question comes from a problem I have with starting the engine. It takes some time for it to finally catch and the starter is cranking away for maybe 4-5 seconds unless I give it a little push with the accelerator pedal. This makes me nervous because i really, really don't want to have to replace a starter this summer. I've read that it could be a fuel pressure regulator going on me or the idle control valve that is dirty.

I want to point out that I don't have any problems driving the car and its smooth sailing at 65mph, no skips or hesitations. So I'm kinda shying away from the issue being the fuel pressure regulator. That being said, I'd like to clean my Idle Air Control Valve. If I am going to remove it, what's the best way to clean it? Should I use some mass air flow sensor cleaner or will that damage anything inside it, and is my safest bet to just use a cloth?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you,
-Wes

Old 03-09-2012, 03:18 PM