Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Brake fluid change

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2006, 02:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake fluid change

Hello everybody,

Back again with yet another question.

My car needs a brake fluid change as part of its service. However i try to do most things myself. But i am a bit reluctant with thisbrake fluid change. Due to the obvious safety hazards.

Can some of you tell me if it is a job which is fairly easy to do. Or is it better to let a experienced car mechanic do it?

According to the Haynes manual it is a relatively easy job but whats your experience?

Thanks in advance. FT

P.S. Next to my normal job i am a part time aircraft engineer so i have seen bigger challenges in my life. But i am just unfamiliar with this kind of jobs on cars.

Old 03-12-2006, 06:17 PM
Default RE: Brake fluid change

it should be almost similar to aircraft brake systems.If the brakes reservoir don't have a drain point then drain off the old fluid thru the end of both brake hoses at the front brake dics area by loosening it fully and allow it to drain off and you need to remove the reservoir cap as well.After that ensure that o ring washer or seal is replaced before you tighten back the brake hoses to ensure good sealing.Remember to use correct specs of brake fluid.Then proceed with brakes bleeding.You should know how to do.

Vollic

Old 03-13-2006, 09:08 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

You could also use a old Turkey Baster and suck out all the fluid from the bottle and then fill it with new fluid then bleed the system.

I would start from the point furthest away and work to closest. Bleed till it all comes out clean.

Old 03-15-2006, 08:05 AM

Thanks Guys,

Already expected it wasn't to difficult but just wanted to make sure.
Will give it a go.

FT

Old 04-03-2006, 06:18 PM