Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

01 S60 HARD START

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 12:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 01 S60 HARD START

After receiving an extended warranty notice concerning the fuel pump on my 01 S60,I took my vehicletomy local Volvo dealer to have the fuel pumpreplacedonce I finally noticedthe fuel odor warned of in the extended warranty. Upon inspection, the dealer found that the fuel pump was indeed in need of replacement, and the fuel pump wasthen immediately replaced free of charge. Now that the fuel pump and o-rings have been replaced,I amno longergetting the odor of fuel, but I am having anincreased amount of difficulty in starting my vehicle. Prior to having the fuel pump replaced, as the fuel odor became stronger, I did begin to have hard starts, but now that the fuel pump has been replaced, the problem seems worse than before[:'(]! Any ideas?

Also, although I am new to posting to the forum, I am not at all new to visiting the forum. With my previous 740 and now with my current S60,I have visited the site frequentlyover the years to diagnose and repair everything from the most minor of issues to the most major. The site is an invaluable tool to Volvo owners and is by far the most informative and easiest to navigate of all the major Volvo sites!

Old 10-10-2008, 08:07 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: 01 S60 HARD START

I wonder if it has something to do with when they installed the new pump?
Maybe a hose or something inside the tank is blocked or something like that.

Old 10-10-2008, 09:43 AM

I Would Go with what Tech Said, Somethings Blocked

Possibly Replace the Fuel Filter.

Is it hard to start with a full tank of gas?

When I run my tank down, like less than 100 Miles, It barely starts...lol

Old 10-10-2008, 03:18 PM