Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

2002 S60 Known Issues?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2018, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 S60 Known Issues?

I have a 2004 S40 for myself, but my mom needs a car now and I came across a 2002 S60 on Craigslist. It's 5 cylinders, automatics transmission, 172,000 miles, passed inspection and emissions good until next year, everything stated working as it should, for $1200. I'm not experienced with cars at all, much less specific Volvo models, so I was hoping someone familiar with these models could help me out.

Are these cars reliable and is parts and labor not too much? Any known issues with this model or platform? I don't even know if this is the first of it's series, or a later revised version, similar to the 2000 S40 vs the 2001 or 2004 S40? I read somewhere that 2000s models S60s had a couple years of bad reliability and stuff, but I don't know what years.

Is it worth it for a car that old and that kind of mileage for $1200? I got my 2004 S40 at 166,000 miles for $1800.

Thanks.

Old 08-01-2018, 06:49 PM
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

One thing that I have learned is that every used car is unique. With that kind of price point, I wouldn't expect much. Someone with a clean, well maintained model will ask for triple that price.

Unless you are good at repairs, have knowledge of Volvos, buying a higher mileage one that you know nothing about is a bit of a risk.

Old 08-01-2018, 07:11 PM
Super Moderator
Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

With any car that old and with that many miles, a lot depends on how the previous owners cared for it. You can find an 02 with 175k that was properly maintained and may go for another 100k. Or you could find one that was abused and neglected that needs major repairs. A good pre-purchase inspection by someone who knows Volvo's would be a good idea.

Old 08-11-2018, 10:54 AM