Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

2014 s60 t5 p0016

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2018, 03:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2014 s60 t5 p0016

Hello, just starting to research an issue that has come up with my wife’s car. As the title says, 2014 S60 T5, 58k miles, absolutely NO issues whatsoever. The car runs perfectly, no symptoms, but the “check engine light” came on yesterday. I checked the code with a very basic code reader, it showed P0016, with the same code “pending” several other times. I cleared the code and began searching for its meaning. Read a little, and was intimidated by it being timing related. I am, what I would call, a parts changer! I’m no mechanic, but I have no issue changing sensors or any parts for that matter, but the word timing makes me nervous. I just wanted to check here to see what others have experienced with a relatively newer car, with no other symptoms, other than the check engine light, with a P0016 code.....? By the way, started the car today, it ran for approximately 5 mins, and the same code returned. The oil is full, decent condition, and no obvious signs of running rough or stalling or anything. Any opinions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-10-2018, 11:23 AM

Anyone have any suggestions? So hard for me to think the timing is off, with the car running so perfectly and no other symptoms......

Old 12-12-2018, 09:24 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts

The code is saying the cam position appears off. This can be a cam or crank sensor, the VVT gear is gummed up and not rotating correctly at speed (its driven by oil pressure) or the VVT gear timing is off. It could be as simple at the cam or crank sensor is not properly seated in or it could be an issue with the VVT gear. If you can pop off the timing belt cover, look around the top of the timing belt to check for any oil leaks.