Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

Survey: S60 vs. 525i

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 12:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Survey: S60 vs. 525i

Howdy group!

I'm researching the possibility of purchasing a 2003 S60 to replace my 1993 BMW 525i. I have ZERO personal experience with Volvos, so I figured I would come here to ask the opinion of the members of this forum to help me decide.

Here is a little background on both cars:

My BMW is in very good condition with 115,000 miles and is my regular summer driver. Although it is 10-years older than the S60, the mileage is nearly comparable and it has never been driven in snow. I live in NW PA where it can snow a lot, so I have an old Saturn for my "winter beater". However, I am getting tired of maintaining an additional car, so I have recently decided that I am going to begin driving my BMW year-round, or I'm going to sell it and the Saturn and replace it with something else.

This is where the Volvo enters the story...

My in-laws have a 2003 S60 (non-turbo) with 5-speed and right around 100,000 miles. They are both near 80-years old so the car has been gently driven and well-maintained. They live in NH but they also own an Explorer so I don't think the S60 has seen a lot of winter driving.

In my research of the S60, I've read about the tiny back seat. I have two boys (ages 6 and 7--still in booster seats) so I'm curious as to how difficult it will be for them to fit in the back. The BMW "feels" like a large car (at least by today's standards) so the size of the S60 is one of our primary concerns.

Assuming the size of the car is acceptable, then reliability is our next concern. In reading reviews on Cars.com and Consumer Reports, it seems as though the reliability is expected to at least be average.