Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Volvo s60 2003 Front bushings

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2015, 11:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvo s60 2003 Front bushings

Hello everybody, I am new to working on cars in general and am very confused. through my research a knocking sound indicates bad bushings.
so where would I get said bushings for cheap? I am a student and don't have much money so I may have to get POS parts until I have the money.

Is there a difference in the bushings from front right to front left? How hard are they to replace? Would I need any special tools?

(I am new to mechanics but experienced in electronics, many say it should be easy for me but I am not to sure)

Old 05-12-2015, 12:38 PM
Super Moderator
Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

A knocking noise could be several things. It would be worth having it professionally diagnosed. Control arm bushings don't usually cause a noise but they can if they are REALLY bad.

Old 05-12-2015, 06:13 PM

Originally Posted by ES6T
A knocking noise could be several things. It would be worth having it professionally diagnosed. Control arm bushings don't usually cause a noise but they can if they are REALLY bad.
Problem with getting it professionally looked at is I am on a tight budget. Unless Volvo or some other company can do diognostics for free?

Old 05-13-2015, 10:54 AM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts

Assuming you are talking about noises coming from the "front end" while driving, there are several components prone to wear but each will have its own signature...

My quick check list for front end noises: