Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

1999 s70 transmission problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2015, 12:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 s70 transmission problems

Hello all,

this is my first time posting to this web site and i have researched as much as possible about my transmission problem before i posted my question the the S70 V70 community. I have had my S70 for several years now and love it . The vehicle had 170k on it when I purchased it and I put in a used trans with 68k due to the present trans having problems. Within the last 8 months I have replaced the S1, S2,and lock up solenoid. The car was running flawlessly until one day it gave me a line pressure solenoid fault and started slipping out of drive and reverse and the trans pump sounded like it was cavatating (whine). (all fluids clean and topped off) I thought the Line press solenoid was bad because I checked the ohms through the wiring harness and the were off the charts on my fluke. Further investigation proved to be a faulty connector at the solenoid itself. I changed out the connector and put everything back together
topped off the trans fluid and the pump whine went away. Now, I have no error codes what so ever and when I start the car up i can put it in reverse and drive and the car will move but after i drive it around the block it slips like it is not in gear and the trans pump whines . i shut the car off let it sit for 5 min then i can drive it again...(no error codes) then it acts like it is in neutral and the pumps whines like it is starving for fluid.
could this be a valve body problem or internal filter problem?

Any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you,

Coalvatis

Old 04-05-2016, 02:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts