Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

another new guys with S70 that sounds like it's has arthritis

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2010, 04:47 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another new guys with S70 that sounds like it's has arthritis

I'm new to fwd volvos and am stumped with the front suspension. My current car is a 98 S70 with 145,000. In the winter it began to sound "creaky" in the front with pops and various other sounds. Lurking on this board and others, I tried various suggestions like replacing the sway bar links, control arm, springs seats and greasing the steering stops. The sway bar links and control arms looked very old and the rubber in the bushings looked slightly ripped so they probably needed replacing. Steering stops are easy enough to grease.

It was a friend of mine who replaced the spring seats with original volvo spring seats, actually with spring seats from an XC90. They match exactly but are supposedly more sturdy than the S70 spring seats. I asked him to check the strut mounts while he was in there and he said that the strut mounts looked fine with no cracks in the rubber, etc. He's a fantastic shade tree mechanic though not a volvo expert. I'll give him the benefit of the doubt on the strut mounts.

When I start up the car and first apply the brakes, the suspension groans. When wheel is turned there is a popping noise. I wish I could give more of a description than groan or pop but that is what it sounds like.

Also replaced earlier before the noises began was the torque rod bushing (poly one from ipd) and fire wall mount as well as the front engine mount. The passenger side cv axle was also replaced since the boot was ripped.

Finally, I have also done the "shake the tire test" at 12 and 6 and 3 and 9. There was no movement at 12 and 6 and some sound at 3 and 9 which sounded like the outer cv joint. Isn't it supposed to flex a bit?