Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Help installing evap core this weekend?!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2007, 10:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help installing evap core this weekend?!

Hello folks, I am a newbie on this forum, and a grease monkey at heart. I've built cars from the ground up and also worked on my own cars. Everything form a Chevy Vega to a Ferrari I've wrenched and owned. So when our beloved red V70 T5 was diagnosed with a bad evap core, I immediately thought "Hey a great chance to tear apart the Volvo!"

So I am hoping that I can get someone to join me in this endeavor this weekend in the Santa Cruz, CA area. I've never taken apart a Volvo dash before, and I was hoping some other brave sould (preferrably someone who has had experience in this) would be willing to help out someone who might go in over his head. I am told that it's a 8 hour job, but since I've never done this before, I figured I had better give it the weekend.

I'd enjoy the company and would provide all meals, drinks,and meaningless conversation as we dig into the depths of the car. So, please give a call or email and let me know if anyone would be interested. Thanks for considering!

mobile 831-234-0811

Old 06-27-2007, 07:08 AM
Default RE: Help installing evap core this weekend?!

This is as good as I can get you. I've heard they're a ROYAL pain in the butt to change. Most likely requiring the entire dash to be removed. There are a couple of how to's over at www.volvospeed.com so I'd look there for those instructions. Meanwhile, here's where it's located and attached to.

Oh and this may help too.

https://volvoforums.com/m_7365/tm.htm

Name:  evaporator.jpg
Views: 724
Size:  249.6 KB

Old 01-08-2009, 09:58 PM
Default Evaporator Core exchange - Pictures Galore! I did it myself.