Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Help Needed - Brake Pad Change

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2008, 07:49 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help Needed - Brake Pad Change

I am sure most of this has been asked before but i have tried my best to read it all before posting.

I have a s70 1997 non turbo 2.4 (i am in the uk) and it is my favourite possesion in the world - it was my dads and was very well maintained by the dealer. I am doing all my own maintainance as it is an old car and i need to conserve money. I have some experience in maintainance - as i have a motorbike on which i do all my own work.

I need to change the brake pads on the car - i know this because its last service about 6 months ago i was told they woud need to be changed soon - and i have doen another 5k miles. They are also starting to squeak which i presume is not a good sign.

I have a few questions before i begin - i would like to be to fully prepared and do all the pads in an evevning as i need the car everyday for work.

1. is there a way of checking the pad wear initially without taking the wheel off?
2. How do i check if the discs need changing too? i have a caliper from work so i will try to measure the thickness tonight.
3. You all talk about the "emergency brake" when working on the brakes - is this the handbrake? as we call it in the uk?
4. I have ordered pads from a local supplier and they have not arrived yet - the guy says they dont need shims?! is this usually the case?
5. what is the best way of pushing the caliper piston back in? i was told a g-clamp would work?!

Can you think of anything else i require before i start......
The pads of course!
Jack and axel stands
7mm allen socket
Various sockets
Punch & hammer
grease (do i need silicolne or copper - i am sure my manual said copper)
wire brush
needle nose pliers

I look forward to your replies - any help would be much appreciated.