Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Just a thought on transmission fluid

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2008, 10:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just a thought on transmission fluid

First of all let me give you guys a bit of background on me and my theory. My name is James, im 25 and I'm a mechanic for a tire company here in the desert in California. Last Spring, I blessed my wife with a 2000 S70 non turbo, with the wonderful Aisin Warner 5speed auto transmission. I've always been the guy who defines meticulous, when it comes to maintainence, the best synthetic everything, heck if they made synthetic washer fluid, I'd have it. I have had a lot of good luck by being as meticulous as I am, I have even put more than 600,000 miles on an engine before. That being said, it wasn't too long after we got the Volvo that I wanted to change the transmission fluid. Now while I may be a cheap guy sometimes, for the most part, I have no problem buying proprietory items from the dealer. So while I was at the dealer picking up an oil filter, I asked for 5 quarts of the special fluid and a drainplug gasket. Immediately the salesman was like who's car is this? Cause we dont reccomend ever changing the fluid, it tends to make them F*ck up, and yes he used the F word. So I told him what it was doing, hard shifting when driving in traffic and its over 100 degrees outside, which happens quite often here. He then suggests a software update so I give him my vin and he says its not eligible, and then suggests an alkaline test of the fluid, for a princely sum of $110. So I turn it arround on him, so either my fluid is gonna be good and my tranny is on the way out, or my fluid is bad, I can't change it, so I need a new transmission.That was 6 months ago, and now, I'm itchng to change the transmission fluid again. So I've been doing some reasearch and making a lot of observation.