Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Looking to buy a used 70 series, anything to watch out for?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2011, 03:19 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy a used 70 series, anything to watch out for?

As the title says, I'm in the market for a used car, my budget being <$3500, but I'd obviously prefer to spend less. I'm mostly looking at 98-01 models, because they're mostly in my price range. I've been doing some research, but I don't feel like I know enough yet.

Are there any glaring issues to be wary of, or any reasons I should be looking at something else? I need something that I can perform maintenance on myself to keep costs down, and something with decent gas mileage. I'm no mechanic, but I can learn.

Any other knowledge you can share is always helpful. Thanks everyone.

Old 10-24-2011, 03:33 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-...s-guide-13678/

You can read reviews on Cars.com

Maintenance records are worth GOLD. Post '98 models have issues with electronic throttle control. Try to find out it they have been replaced.

Last edited by rspi; 10-24-2011 at 03:34 PM. Reason: addition
Old 10-25-2011, 08:13 AM
Smile Also, look to see when the ABS Module was replaced..or if?