Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

more psi?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2008, 04:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default more psi?

hey im new to the volvo forums and a new owner of a 2000 s70 glt. I've got a lot to learn about volvos but im already a huge fan. I was wondering if there was any way i could get more psi out of the stock low pressure turbo? also can i put a blow off valve on the stock turbo? i want to be able to hear it.

Old 04-22-2008, 05:58 PM
Default RE: more psi?

yea you will need a manual boost controller

Old 04-22-2008, 06:27 PM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

ORIGINAL: samadkins29

yea you will need a manual boost controller
NO

1. He is a 2000 which means ME7. Meaning that ME7 doesn't like MBC's. He can try but personally I wouldn't.

2. Yes he can raise the PSI in his Volvo. Purchase an ECU upgrade. You will be very pleased with it and the results.

3. Yes you can put a BOV on your car. However if you are Automatic you will only hear it go off when you let off the gas, of course if your manual you will hear it between shifts.

Old 04-22-2008, 06:42 PM

alright. what is the worst that can happen if i install a boost controller? i would like to get between 10-12 psi off the stock turbo. i am planing on buying a boost gauge and a blow off valve. whats the best kit for a bov for my car and where can i get one? also how do i go about upgrading my ecu? thanks for all the help. actually one last question. will the r.i.p. kit with bov from volvo motorsports fit my car? http://www.volvomotorsports.com/cata...roducts_id=129

Old 04-23-2008, 07:22 AM

I suggest getting an HKS SSQV and or a TIAL BOV.

Get an Aluminum flange and have it welded to your Upper Intercooler Pipe the one that goes over the engine.

Or buy the SAMCO BOV and SAMCO turbo hose from Viva Performance.